Thelma’s Chocolate Cake – a quick go to cake

As Easter is just around the corner and thoughts are turning to chocolate, I thought I would share the four chocolate cakes in my life over the coming weeks. Despite not being an avid fan of chocolate like some, (my preference is the brulees, pannacottas, and citrus tarts found on menus) I do enjoy a slice (aka large door-stopping wedge) of chocolate cake at children’s birthday parties and with a cup of tea! Thelma’s chocolate cake recipe is one of the many things the food techy brought to our marriage. There are many quirkier things he brought but wine needs to be involved before discussing and disclosing those items.

IMG_5758

From all accounts Thelma was a past employee of the food techy’s workplace and made this cake for staff morning teas. It has become a favourite in our family and the recipe has been passed to many friends to continue the tradition. I will honestly say, it really is just a “jujjed” up version of a packet cake and I make no apologies for sharing that information. Sometimes we all just need a quick and easy go to recipe when chocolate cake is required within the hour.

IMG_5749

To my friends in the northern hemisphere climes, a word of warning……this recipe calls for a packet of instant chocolate pudding. This is NOT the self sauce variety. Your pudding mix should only have 1 sachet inside! Here in Australia I use the Cottees brand of instant choc pudding.

120564-cottees-pudding-instant-chocolate-100g

I also tend to use a higher quality cake packet mix, and if you can buy one with the frosting included, all up this cake comes out at a very economical price with a good flavour. I bake it in my kugelhopf cake tin but have also had success in the standard 20-22 cm round tins.

IMG_5750

Enjoy! TBH XX

4 thoughts on “Thelma’s Chocolate Cake – a quick go to cake

  1. What an interesting cake. I didn’t know we could buy pudding packets in Australia. I’ll be off to the store tomorrow to see if I can find it so I can make this cake. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Donna, I’m just back form Wylie’s and I gather you are enjoying the Yorkshire tea! Do you know what brand of chocolate pudding that would be in the UK? We’ve got Angel Delight, but I think it comes out mpre frothy than the Oz one?

    Like

    • Loving the Yorkshire cuppas! Im not sure about the angels delight. Might need to check ingredients. However in saying that, i dont think it would matter and quite likely to work. Will buy another cottees and list the ingredients for you to check.

      Like

I would love to hear from you and share ideas.....

