Chow Down to Eurovision 2015

As a new blogger I was absolutely delighted to be invited to take part in the Chow Down to Eurovision 2015 competition hosted by the talented and funny Jason from blog Don’t Boil The Sauce.

I’ll let Jason tell you all about the competition here, and please take some time to read some of his other posts. They are great fun!

This year Eurovision takes on a whole other dimension for us here in Australian. 2015 will be the first time we have been invited to compete! The jury is still out on who will represent us, but no doubt we will fulfil the criteria. We also get to vote!

For me, Eurovision holds one distinct memory…….ABBA! The 1974 competition saw them come onto the scene singing Waterloo and then take the world by storm. And yes I was that raving teenage girl who followed them with a devoutness reserved for religion. Dancing Queen was surely written specifically for me? When the album Arrival was due for release, my best friends mother was working at RCA records at the time,  and managed to obtain a copy for me 24 hours before anyone else! Oh can you hear the drums Fernando!

So as an ode to the Swedes with a little bit of Oz thrown in, I have made Wattleseed Blinis with Smoked Salmon as my entry for Chow Down 2015.

 

IMG_5730

 

The recipe I have used comes from Juleigh Robins via Herbie’s Spices. The recipe makes 12 large or 36 small blinis.

Recipe:

1 tablespoon Wattleseed Roasted and Ground
3 eggs
150mL milk
150mL water
80mL canola oil
2 cups self raising flour

Methods/steps
Heat the wattleseed gently in a dry pan to release flavour.
Whisk together eggs, milk, water and oil until well combined.
Slowly add the wattleseed and flour to make a spoonable batter. Adjust the texture with extra milk or flour if necessary.
Allow the mixture to rest for about half an hour to relax the flour and to soften the wattleseed grains.
Place a teaspoon (for small blinis) or generous tablespoon (for entrée or luncheon blinis) of the batter onto a lightly greased hot frying pan or solid cooking plate. Cook until small bubbles appear on the surface, then carefully flip the blini over with a spatula and cook the other side.
Serve smoked salmon, creme fraiche and some sprigs of dill.

 

IMG_5737

Happy Eurovision 2015! Aussie, Aussie Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi!

TBH xx

 

5 thoughts on “Chow Down to Eurovision 2015

  1. Pingback: The Quest for Wattleseed | The bountiful hunter

  2. I think this is on the Money, Money, Money… definitely a contender for The Winner Takes It All, I’m feeling my own entry is now Under Attack. I know that this is the Name of the Game, but I’m hoping some readers will still Take A Chance On Me with my Bang-A-Boomernag of Tim Tams, but I guess only One of Us will be victorious! Well done, great entry!

    Like

  3. Love blinis, love smoked salmon, love Eurovision! Very excited about the weekend coming up where I’m off to Sydney for a day at Herbies too! Didn’t appreciate ABBA in the prime, got on board later.

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you and share ideas.....

