Sourdough Baking with Camilla (Duchess of Newy)

Camilla has arrived in my home and is the name I have bestowed upon my sourdough starter generously offered by Celia of Fig Jam and Lime Cordial. I have named her after the Duchess of Cornwall in a nod to a resilient women who rose again to get her man! Camilla has also come from good breeding stock (Priscilla) – important for securing the lineage of the aristocrats! I’m hoping my Camilla will keep rising with resilience too.

I have decided that baking sourdough bread is much like raising children, the difference being you get instructions from the wonderful Celia for your bread raising! Where was Celia when the human baby was born and raised? I could have done with written instructions and twitter encouragement then too! Constant photos of bubbling starter were sent back and forth….is this right Celia? is she bubbling enough?, have I added enough flour? I wonder if Celia would have been quite so captivated by my photos if they were of pooey nappies, strange rashes and growth charts? I have to say, Camilla was far easier to feed on flour and water, and I didn’t end up with cracked nipples!

Camilla at 6.30am doin’ her thang!

So after feeding Camilla all weekend and feeling like a new mother with scheduled feeding times, Camilla was rearing to go and bubbling with excitement (literally) by Sunday morning. Thanks once again to Celia who provided excellent instructions and tutorials on her blog to get you “started with your starter”. The result was two incredible and delicious loaves of sourdough. The food techy (an expert in the art of bread making) has given them 2 thumbs up and a review of great texture, good crumb and a decent bloody crust. The smell emanating around the house is one of homeliness and warmth.

10488404_1562964883950110_8016857768465742974_n

Inaugural Camilla loaf

IMG_5726

Camilla’s second loaf

I am now addicted to the art of sourdough baking and thankfully so, as I still have 11 kgs of bakers flour to use!

So here’s to you Celia, Priscilla and Camilla. May we find world peace by not only breaking bread together, but baking bread together. TBH xxx (feeling even more Bountiful after devouring half a loaf of bread in record time).

8 thoughts on “Sourdough Baking with Camilla (Duchess of Newy)

  1. Donna, you and Camilla did a beautiful job! Sourdough baking (AND eating!) is definitely addictive. I got so carried away one day last week I had three stages (in addition to my jar of starter) going all at once. Ended up having to bake two loaves same day, so I was forced to finally find out whether it’s true that bread freezes beautifully. It does!

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting Jean. Yes Celia and I have been twitter speaking this morning as to how I can have loaves and starter going on a constant roll to given me a loaf every second day or so. I have a smallish oven too so can only bake one loaf at at time. I just eat it, it never gets to freezer stage! I also have a husband and teenage son who are big bread eaters! No gluten free products in my home….Talk soon Dxx

      Like

    • Totally not paleo! Haha, but if I could figure out how to lessen the gluten impact with an alternate flour (maybe buckwheat?) it’d wouldn’t be too bad on the insides for a special treat 😉 I’ll have to do some research.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome to Camilla and her wonderful looking loaves! Well done – it’s just such a brilliant thing to do, isn’t it? I make half the recipe as it’s only the two of us, usually starting on a Friday to bake on Saturday or Sunday. You must try making a fruit loaf – it’s wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for visiting Selma. Yes Sourdough baking is sheer joy I have discovered! I will try the fruit loaf as suggested, I’m just trialing my oven temps and starter to get the mix correct. So far that is proving very consistent! Dx

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you and share ideas.....

